Bread Part 1

Cinnamon Swirl Bread
For a three or four months we were trying new ice cream recipes every weekend.  That came to an end when I started dieting after Thanksgiving, because ice cream is an issue for me.  So now I haven’t had ice cream in over a month, which is great because I’ve lost a bunch of weight, but I miss experimenting with recipes every weekend.  So now I’ve turned to bread.

IMG_4665

The first one came from necessity.  Sidney’s favorite bread in the world is Great Harvest Cinnamon Swirl bread.  She doesn’t even need a topping.  Well they made an adjustment to their ingredients list.   Now it said “manufactured in a facility that may have nuts” and that was enough for Sid.   Even though I’m sure they didn’t change how they made things, as soon as that showed up on the label she was through with Great Harvest, which really depressed her.

So my goal became to make a cinnamon bread that she would love that would be totally safe.  First of all I found the little cinnamon burst things that go in the bread.  I thought this was great, and ordered two bags, but was so excited that I didn’t check the ingredients.  Yup, same problem, manufactured in one of those nut-filled facilities.

So I decided the most important component was cinnamon, and she’d be happy to get it any way she could.  After three weeks of experimenting with recipes from three different websites, and combining from all three in the end I finally got on I really liked.  And she likes it too which was the whole point.

Cinnamon Swirl Bread

First of all I make this all in my food processor.  So you’d have tot make some slight changes if you’re using a mixer or doing it by hand.  This recipe makes two loaves

1/2 cup sugar (or 1/4 cup honey.  I’ve done it both ways and it’s good)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 t ground cinnamon

1 1/2 T yeast

2 eggs

1 cup warm water

1 cup water

2  t kosher salt

2 T. vegetable oil

1/2 cup cinnamon/sugar mix (I go heavy on the sugar because it gets nice and gooey when you cook it)

6 cups flour (I do half white flour, half regular wheat.  Sidney actually prefers white bread like every single kid I know, but she still likes this)

Combine the warm water, yeast and sugar. The water just has to be warm, if it’s hot it will kill the yeast.  Let that go for 5 minutes until you can see it foaming.

Combine all the dry ingredients except the cinnamon/sugar mix.  Combine all the wet ingredients.  In my food processor I slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry so it is all absorbed, then I mix it for 30-40 seconds until it pulls away from the sides of the food processor.  If it’s still gooey add a little more flour.  It should kind of roll up into a ball and barely be sticky.

Spray Pam into a bowl, drop your dough ball in there and cover it with plastic wrap sprayed with Pam.  Let that sit and rise for about an hour until it’s bigger, maybe twice the size.  Spread out flour on the counter and divide the dough into two pieces.  Flatten it out into a 8 inch by 12 inch and spread some cinnamon/sugar mix along the bottom edge.  Roll it up halfway and spread some more mix.  Pinch the ends so that gooey sugar goodness doesn’t leak out.  Then put it in the loaf pan and let is raise another 45 minutes covered with plastic wrap sprayed with Pam.

Preheat the oven to 400.  Lay a pan on your bottom rack to heat up.  Put the actual rack you’ll cook the bread in the middle.  After the oven is ready, lower the temperature to 375 and put your bread in.  Right before you close the door throw a cup of water into the bottom pan and shut the door quickly.   The steam keeps the crust soft so skip this step and the final step if you like a harder crust.  Bake for 25-28 minutes.  Pull out the loaves and rub butter on the top.

//

//

, ,

  1. #1 by Mom on February 3, 2010 - 10:35 pm

    Wow, am I impressed. I am amazed that mizing for such a short period of time does not result in crumbly bread. I am going to have to try it (oh, wait, my bread pans are packed).

  2. #2 by Jennifer on February 4, 2010 - 10:36 am

    I’m trying to get over my fear of using yeast and made my first loaf of bread a couple of days ago. I’ll have to put this on my list to try. We love this kind of bread for french toast.

Leave a Reply

