Fifty Dangerous Things 4

Breaking Glass

IMG_6296

I thought for sure Wyatt would be excited to break glass.  He loves tools and is usually helping anytime I’m hanging pictures or assembling shelves.  Once Sidney took a turn, he suddenly lost interest.  The noise bothered him more than I expected.  I should have had him go first.

IMG_6300

When I was moving our old tv stand out to the garage, it broke.  So he’ll have another chance to smash stuff with tools.  maybe we’ll attack that with some hammers and saws as a bonus Dangerous Thing.

Look at that smile when I asked her if she liked it.

After the sheets of glass were smashed, we took a look at how it splintered, how sharp everything was and talked about how dangerous it could be to break glass when mom and dad aren’t around.  I showed them the small nick in our windshield, and we talked about how glass in our car was different than the glass we had just played with.

Gever Tulley, the author of 50 Dangerous Things gave a presentation at TED talking about doing dangerous thing.  It’s a quick video.  He’s also stopped by our blog a couple of times to comment.  Isn’t the internet cool?   One day we pick up a book written by a guy I’d never heard of, and a few weeks later he’s at our blog watching us do the things he’s written about.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jamie on April 20, 2010 - 9:30 am

    Man, I’m totally gonna steal your idea and do some of this stuff with my 6 year old.

Leave a Reply

