Fifty Dangerous Things 5

Cooking in the dishwasher.

Cooking in the Dishwasher

I thought the most dangerous thing about this one was messing with the warranty on our dishwasher.  It turns out getting the kids to eat them was a lot harder than I imagined.  We threw a couple of hot dogs in the top shelf loaded in four layers of tin foil.  After the two hour cycle they looked fine.  We talked about how the hot water in the washer was no different than boiling water on the stove.  They thought it was cool until we figured out it would only take five minutes in the microwave or 15 minutes on the stove compared to 90 minutes in the dishwasher.

Cooking in the Dishwasher

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Jessica on April 25, 2010 - 10:16 pm

    Did they taste any different than boiling them on the stove?

  2. #2 by Josh on April 26, 2010 - 3:25 am

    I gotta say this was a weird one. The idea of getting either soapy water on my hot dog or hot dog water on my dishes is enough to keep me from doing this with kids.

    • #3 by Jeremy on April 26, 2010 - 6:11 am

      I wrapped it up with enough tin foil I don’t think anything got in. I don’t really like hot dogs, but it tasted normal to me.

  3. #4 by Mom on April 26, 2010 - 7:18 pm

    I think the most dangerous thing about this is eating the hot dog – not matter how it is cooked.

  4. #5 by Susan M on April 27, 2010 - 7:53 am

    Dishwasher detergent is poisonous. Did the book mention that? My mother-in-law told me so just about every time she did the dishes. But I just checked and it looks like it’s true.

  5. #6 by Jeremy on April 27, 2010 - 10:02 am

    That’s what the rinse cycle is for. Just kidding. I believe the book does mention that. Either way we didn’t use soap for our experiment, though it only could have helped the flavor of a hot dog.

  1. Hot Dog A la… Dishwasher? | GEEK-E-STUFF

Leave a Reply

