Sidney is ten.

We’ve grown attached to her over the years.

I knew she was trouble from the beginning. She stopped growing for a while, something we found out during a routine ultrasound. This was pretty stressful, and watching that ultrasound still floors me after ten years.

She’s stubborn, man is she stubborn.  Britnie says it came straight from me, but I figure it must be some recessive gene from a relative long forgotten.   I refuse to admit I’m as stubborn as she is.  We face off occasionally, and every time she prefers spending two hours in her room to giving in.  I’m assuming she’ll grow out of this any day now.  Right?  Right?

Things she loves most are
  1. Reading
  2. Peanut Butter and chocolate
  3. The girls in the family including aunts and nieces
  4. Her brother (she will never, ever admit this to you, so don’t ask)
  5. video games
  6. science and art at school
  7. singing
  8. Shows about dinosaurs
  9. movies
  10. sushi
  11. Schoolhouse Rock

Things she doesn’t like as much include

  1. Math (she could have also inherited this from me)
  2. Sleeping in her bed
  3. Primary

I’d say she loves pink, but that’s an understatement.  I will do a load of red laundry, and every piece of clothing could be hers.  And it’s been like that from the beginning.  I would also say she loves princesses, but that seems to have changed in the last 60 days, and now she looks at me like I’m totally out of it when I bring it up.  “Princesses are for babies Dad”, which doesn’t explain ages 2-9.

She loves babies, which we can safely assume she inherited from Britnie.

I would name her favorite books, but it seems to change every time I ask her.  Last week she got mad when I told her Huckleberry Finn might be better for her in a year or two.   This was because she’d already started reading it.  I get the you’re nuts look sometimes when I suggest a book.  That’s because she read it in third grade and just because the librarian told me it’s good for fifth graders doesn’t mean anything.

Something that isn’t part of my genes, but she has inherited, is she is kind of geeky.  She loves comics and videogames.   Never in a million years did I think out of the four people in our family, I wouldn’t be the one playing an Xbox the most.

She’s beautiful.  And if she reads that she will fake getting angry with me and punch me in the arm saying “Daaaaaaad”.  She’s got a mouth full of crooked teeth that crack me up.  But I look past those braces and pity the boys that think they are going to get a kiss before she beats them at Mario Kart (and gently tells them her dad won’t let her date until she’s twenty-one).  Kissing grosses her out, and I make sure to noisily kiss Britnie in front of her to encourage that thinking.   I have also told her that kissing is similar to math.

That ultrasound I mentioned?  That’s when I knew this wouldn’t be fair.  See the tech told us something was wrong, and I started crying.  I thought that was a strange because I didn’t even know that alien-looking thing.  Now though I know what a pain in the butt that alien-looking thing can be, I still cry over that ultrasound, just this morning in fact when I watched it again.  Back then it was a big deal because I was afraid I’d never get to meet her.  Now it’s a big deal because I think about everything I would have missed without her.

We love you Sis.  Happy Birthday.

, ,

  1. #1 by Scrappy on July 28, 2010 - 6:02 am

    And now I’m crying. What a sweet post. My husband and I were just talking last night about how cool we thought we were when we turned ten. Happy Birthday, Sidney–One decade old!!

  2. #2 by sarita on July 28, 2010 - 7:22 am

    “I will never admit I’m as stubborn as she is.”

    Awesome.

    What a sweet tribute to your beautiful daughter!

  3. #3 by Jessica on July 28, 2010 - 8:30 am

    Dang it; I’m tearing up at work. I love her so much and can’t imagine my life without her. Thank you for being such a great Dad.

  4. #4 by Jessica Smith on July 28, 2010 - 5:12 pm

    What a sweet post. She is so beautiful and such a sweetheart too.

  5. #5 by Britnie on July 28, 2010 - 6:54 pm

    You are the best Dad ever!!!

  6. #6 by Mom on July 28, 2010 - 6:59 pm

    Beautiful!
    You don’t think geekiness isn’t in her genes? Ahem. I think it is.
    Hey – I think those sunglasses are in my car.

  7. #7 by Jamie Allen on July 28, 2010 - 7:44 pm

    That is soooo awesome! Such a sweet tribute! Congrats Brit!

  8. #8 by Roxanne on July 28, 2010 - 8:08 pm

    Beautiful, sweet post. (Can I say sweet to a dad?) Your love for her is wonderful.

  9. #9 by Billie on July 28, 2010 - 8:20 pm

    One lucky little girl that is…to have two wonderful parents that love her so much. For a daddy to write something so great about his precious “princess” is truly awesome… ps…Brit, she looks just like you when you were younger (and still).

  10. #10 by Jennifer on July 29, 2010 - 9:38 am

    I love it! Happy Birthday to Sidney! I can still remember running over to the hospital to meet her the day she was born. I can’t believe that was 10 years ago.

  11. #11 by Diane on July 30, 2010 - 7:20 am

    Lovely post for a lovely daughter. This is a great tribute to her as a daughter and you as a father!

Leave a Reply

